Understanding an Insurance Company’s Case Evaluation Process

A car accident can rattle even those with nerves of steel.  Oftentimes, there is also a sense of confusion after an accident and involved parties may disagree who is at fault. One may not have insurance or may object to having the police called, wanting to just settle it between you and them.  In a worst case scenario, someone is injured. If this is the case, it is important to file a personal injury claim with a reputable law firm as soon as you’ve received treatment for your injuries.

For individuals in car accidents it can be easy to make a mistake following the accident. You may forget to get witness information, take pictures, or miss something else important. One of the most common mistakes that victims make is giving the other insurance company too much information.  After being in a car accident where the other driver was at fault, you can expect to be contacted by the other driver’s insurance company who will ask you for the following information:

Medical Records and Medical Bills

While in some cases,  medical record and medical bills may be needed for the claim, you should be aware that you don’t have to hand over billing statements that contain any discounts given to you by the hospital after treating you for your injuries.  For example, if your injuries cost a total of $200,000 but the hospital gave you a discount of $50,000 and the other insurance company sees this discount, they will only reimburse you for $150,000 instead of the $200,000 you are actually entitled to.  To be safe and to avoid losing money in a personal injury case, contact a lawyer in Arizona immediately after a car accident to make sure you make all the right decisions, starting with the phone call from the other insurance agency.

To prevent making mistakes with the other insurance company, as well as other mistakes during your personal injury claim, it is important to retain an experienced lawyer in Arizona.  The legal team at Hastings & Hastings can guide you from start to finish during your personal injury claim in Arizona.  We offer a free, no obligation initial consultation where we will listen to your story, ask questions and answer all of your questions. We will give you our expert legal advice at no-obligation. To speak with a friendly, experienced member of our legal team, contact Hastings and Hastings at 800-975-0080.

How Long Do I Have to Resolve My Auto Accident Case

When you’re involved with an auto accident in Arizona, it’s likely you are focused on recovering from your injuries and getting your life back to a sense of normality. Few people are eager to talk to a lawyer and jump into a court room to seek compensation for their injuries. However, there are limitations to the amount of time you have to file a claim in court against the person at fault in your vehicle accident. It’s important to talk to a lawyer and get the process started when the clock starts ticking so you don’t miss out on the compensation to which you are entitled.

How Long Do You Have?

The good news is Arizona law allows a reasonable amount of time during which you can file a claim against someone if you have been injured in a car accident deemed to be their fault. For the most part, the case must be started and commenced within two years from the date of the accident, This includes any personal injury or death, along with any damage to property that may have occurred. This means it’s important to start taking steps as soon as possible after the accident to ensure you fall within this timeline.

Do the Statutes of Limitations Ever Not Apply?

Many people feel there must be exceptions to the rule when it comes to an auto accident statute of limitations. After all, what if you are so severely injured it takes you a long period of time to recover in order to properly pursue your case. While there are no set regulations that address this issue, it’s important to talk to a personal injury lawyer to determine whether you will be held strictly to this statute of limitations or if there is a possibility it will be overlooked for your case. For individuals who are severely injured or in situations that involve death, a family member can often consult with an attorney to inquire about the best way to proceed.

Do You Need a Lawyer?

Another common question individuals have in regard to their auto accident is whether they really need a lawyer. When the police officer has already proclaimed the other party to be at fault, it can seem like an easy case. However, this isn’t often the case. In fact, insurance companies are notorious for offering settlements that are much lower than the amount to which you are entitled. Working with an attorney experienced in auto accidents and personal injury cases can help you take the right steps to obtain the compensation you are owed as a result of the injuries you have suffered from.