Cell Phone Usage Prohibited for Teen Drivers in Arizona

Arizona has recently joined the other 48 states regarding placing limitations and prevention of cell phone use while behind the wheel. Today, the only state that has no type of law in place that prohibits calls or texting while driving is the state of Montana.

The new law in the state of Arizona is not quite as restrictive as many of the other state laws; however, it does present a number of important implications for drivers and visitors in Arizona. This law specifically applies to teen drivers. It can also impact legal situations that involve accidents which are the result of teens who use their phones while driving and leads to an accident.

Here, you can learn more about the new teen driver law regarding cell phones in Arizona and how it affects you and your teenager.

The Basics of the New Cell Phone Law in Arizona

This is a law that applies specifically to any new driver that is between the ages of 15.5 and 18. It was put in place to prohibit the use of a cell phone while the individual is driving – except in a “specific emergency situation,” or in order to listen to the “audible turn-by-turn navigation,” or another map app.

Similar to the previously set up laws for various teen drives, the new law makes these drivers subject to what is referred to as “secondary enforcement.” What this means is that a teen cannot be pulled over or even cited just for being seen using a phone while they are behind the wheel. What the law actually means is that the teen will have to be pulled over for some other type of violation before the police officer can issue a citation for the use of their phone. Also, if a teen does not receive a citation for the use of a cell phone, driving at night or for having extra passengers in the vehicle for a period of six months, then they are no longer affected by the law.

In regard to other laws that are currently in place, this one is not very restrictive. However, it does carry a few penalties for any violation, which include:

  • For a first violation the individual can face a fine of up to $75 and a 30-day extension of the six-month period
  • For a second violation, the individual will face a fine up to $100 and a 60-day extension of the six-month period.
  • For three or more violations, the individual can face a fine of up to $100 and a 30-day license suspension.

Why is the Law Targeted to Teens?

There have been several attempts made by Arizona lawmakers to introduce laws that are more stringent for the use of a cell phone while driving. To date, these have not been successful. However, the law for teens received a higher level of support.

If you consider the statistics related to vehicle accidents that involve teens, it is no surprise that this new law has been enacted. According to a recent study from AAA, drivers between the ages of 16 and 19 have the highest level of crashes than any other driver in the U.S.

What to Do if a Distracted Teen Hits Your Vehicle

If you are involved in an accident with a distracted teen driver, then the best thing you can do is contact an attorney. They can help ensure that the needed evidence is gathered to prove your case and help you recover compensation for the injuries and damages you incurred. In the long run, proper legal representation will help in these situations. To find out more, contact the offices of Hastings and Hastings at 800-975-0080.

When to Take Action after a Slip and Fall Incident

Today, slip and fall incidents occur rather often. In fact, according to the National Floor Safety Institute, more than one million of these incidents result in visits to the emergency room each year. In many cases, these types of traumatic injuries are the result of negligence on the behalf of the property owner.

Causes of Slip and Fall Incidents

There are several circumstances that can lead to a slip and fall accident. From puddles to torn carpet, it’s the property owner’s responsibility to maintain easy to navigate and safe conditions that prevent the occurrence of slip and fall accidents. A few of the common causes of a slip and fall accident can be found here:

  • Slippery or wet indoor surfaces

According to information from the National Floor Safety Institute, these types of hazardous surfaces result in approximately 55 percent of all slip and fall incidents. In many cases surfaces are wet, which makes them slippery, due to a spill or having been recently mopped.  Employers and business owners are required to either take action and dry the surfaces or to warn people coming onto the property about the potential hazard present.

  • Bad weather

While it’s not possible to control the weather, any property owner needs to know the proper way to respond to any adverse weather conditions both responsibly and promptly. This means that they must take action to clear away icy or snowy walkways. They must also clean up any debris – such as a fallen tree branch – after a storm comes through. According to Accuweather, the issue of “unnatural accumulation” is a key cause of slip and fall cases.

  • Clutter

Believe it or not, having a bunch of “stuff” lying around is actually quite hazardous. Business owners need to keep their premises free from any obstructions that may injure either employees or customers.

Common Injuries with a Slip and Fall Accident

A slip and fall incident can lead to a number of devastating injuries. Some of the most common seen include:

  • Head injuries
  • Hip fractures
  • Shoulder dislocation
  • Ankle sprains
  • Slipped or herniated discs
  • Lacerations

In severe situations, a slip and fall accident can even cause wrongful death.

When to Take Action after a Slip and Fall Incident

If you were involved in a slip and fall accident that was caused by negligence, then you might be considered responsible for the damages that occur.  For this reason, it is crucial that you seek proper medical attention as soon as you can to help you minimize the damage to your overall health and provide you with the documentation necessary for your personal injury case (if you move forward).

After you have completed the medical evaluation, be sure to contact a personal injury lawyer. An attorney will ensure that all the necessary evidence is gathered to build a strong case and help you get the compensation you deserve for the injuries you suffered. Unfortunately, there are many premise owners who fail to maintain properly safe conditions. The good news is, it is possible to hold these negligent businesses, and these individuals, accountable. To learn more, contact Hastings and Hastings in at 800-975-0080.