Hastings & Hastings, Arizona’s Premier Discount Accident Lawyer’s have been defending the rights of accident victims in Phoenix for over three decades. In short, we have an incredible amount of experience working in the field of accident law. One issue that comes up time and time again when working with accident victims, is the topic of driving while under the influence. Too often, alcohol is a major factor in an accident. In our blog today, we will look at Arizona’s drunk driving fines and penalties.
Offenders Face Jail Time
Arizona is one of the few states in the nation in which first time DUI offenders will face mandatory jail time. The minimum sentence for first time offenders is 24 hours up to 10 days. Second offenses have a minimum jail time of 30 days, up to 90 days. Third offenses have a minimum jail time of 4 months. This shows how serious driving while under the influence is taken in Arizona.
Jail time is not the only penalty that DUI offenders will face. Fines will be levied against them and they will also have their license suspended. For first time offenders, the suspension may range for 90 days to 360. For second and third time offenders, the suspension will last at least 1 year. Additionally, for all offenses, an ignition interlock device will be installed in the individuals car. These devices help to ensure that no one who is intoxicated can start the car.
A Word on Extreme DUIs
Individuals who have a BAC above .015 call under the category of “Extreme DUI.” This BAC is nearly twice the legal limit. The fines and penalties for an Extreme DUI are more severe than a standard DUI. It is also important to note, individuals can be charged with a DUI or Extreme DUI if their BAC exceeds the legal limit within a two hour window of them driving a car.